Pedrito Calvo

Pedrito Calvo is a particularly charismatic front man and certainly Cuba’s most important singer. He was for a long time one of the central figures of the world’s most famous Cuban band Los Van Van. For over 20 years they toured together very successfully around the world and conceded several prizes. The singer separated from Los Van Van and since then has been so successful with his own projects that they have become indispensable in the playlists of Latin-lovers.

In the summer of 2020, he will be touring Europe with an outstanding eight-piece band and a brand-new CD.

Line up
Pedrito Calvo / Lead vocals
William Borrego Rodriguez / Trombone, vocals
Lázaro Dilout / Trumpet, vocals
Nicolás Sirgado / Bass, vocals
Herber Méndez / Piano, vocals
Querol Aldana / Tres Cubano, vocals
Vivo Barrera / Congas
Fabián Sirgado / Timbales, vocals

Bio
After his first TV appearance in 1957 in Cuba, Pedrito Calvo first worked as a singer in the orchestra of his father. Juan Formell, the bandleader of Los Van Van, Cuba’s best-known orchestra, became aware of him and hired him as a lead singer. This commitment took 30 years, in which Pedrito recorded with Van Van with more than 500 titles and made him a legend in his lifetime. Numerous recordings are still among the most well-known Latin songs, not only in the world-wide Latin community. In 2001, Pedrito received a Grammy in the category “Best Salsa Performance” for his performance on the Van Van CD “LLego la Hora”.

In 2001, he left Los Van Van first with the Afro Cuban All Stars, whose director was Juan de Marcos, the founder of the Buena Vista Social Club, to make CD recordings and tours. After this collaboration, he founded his own orchestra: Pedrito Calvo y la Nueva Justicia.

In 2014 he recorded with the Italian pop star Zucchero the successful title “Asi Celeste” and gave many concerts together with him.

Pedrito Calvo (CU)

Pedrito Calvo ist ein besonders charismatischer Frontmann und sicherlich Kuba´s bedeutendster Sänger. Er war lange Zeit einer der zentralen Figuren der weltweit bekanntesten kubanischen Band Los Van Van. Über 20 Jahre tourten sie zusammen sehr erfolgreich um die Welt und räumten dabei etliche Preise ab. Der Sänger trennte sich von Los Van Van und ist seitdem mit seinen eigenen Projekten längst so erfolgreich, dass sie aus den Playlists der Latinliebhaber nicht mehr wegzudenken sind.

Im Sommer 2020 kommt er mit einer herausragenden achtköpfigen Band und einer brandneuen CD im Gepäck auf Europatournee.

Line up
Pedrito Calvo / Stimme
William Borrego Rodriguez/ Posaune, Gesang
Lázaro Dilout / Trompete, Gesang
Nicolás Sirgado / Bass, Gesang
Herber Méndez / Piano, Gesang
Querol Aldana / Tres Cubano, Gesang
Vivo Barrera / Percussion
Fabián Sirgado / Congas, Gesang

Bio
Nach seinem ersten TV-Auftritt 1957 in Kuba arbeitete Pedrito Calvo zunächst als Sänger in dem Orchester seines Vaters. Juan Formell, der Bandleader von Los Van Van, Kubas bekantestem Orchester, wurde auf ihn aufmerksam und engagierte ihn als Leadsänger. Dieses Engagement dauerte 30 Jahre, in denen Pedrito mit Van Van über 500 Titel aufnahm und ihn bereits zu seinen Lebzeiten zu einer Legende machten. Zahlreiche Aufnahmen zählen bis heute, nicht nur in der weltweiten Latin-Gemeinde, zu den bekanntesten Latin- Songs. In 2001 erhielt Pedrito für seine Performance auf der Van Van CD „LLego la Hora“ einen Grammy in der Kategorie „Best Salsa Performance“.

2001 verließ er Los Van Van um zunächst mit den Afro Cuban All Stars, dessen Direktor Juan de Marcos, der Gründer des Buena Vista Social Clubs war,  CD-Aufnahmen und Tourneen zu machen. Nach dieser Zusammenarbeit gründete er sein eigenes Orchester: Pedrito Calvo y la Nueva Justicia.

2014 nahm er mit dem italienischen Popstar Zucchero den erfolgreichen Titel „Asi Celeste“ auf und gab zusammen mit ihm zahlreiche Konzerte.