Mayito Rivera (CU)

The Voice of Cuba‘s most famous Band – Los Van Van

05riviera©PetraKellner

Without a doubt, Mario “Mayito“ Rivera, ”El Poeta de la Rumba”, is one of the five leading Cuban vocalists worldwide! For more than 20 years he has been the unmistakable voice and face of the internationally acclaimed Cuban band Los Van Van.

Son,  Rumba, Afro, Salsa, Bolero or Timba – Mayito Rivera’s singing, tremolo and timbre are always topnotch. He already received  several awards for his exceptional voice and won, together with Los Van Van, a Grammy award. His solo album “Negrito  Bailando” got nominated for another Grammy in the category “Best Salsa Album of the Year”.

The diverse talent of the “poet of  Rumba” is also highly regarded by fellow musicians, who invite him for guest performances worldwide: Salsa celebrities such as Oscar d´ Leon, Gilberto Santa Rosa, Issac Delgaado or Son Como Son, Timbalive and many more.

After leaving Los Van Van in 2011, Mayito Rivera is now making his own way with his band “Sons of Cuba” – a sextet of young top-class musicians from his home country. Together they present an explosive mix of perfect arrangements and a completely new blend of modern and classical rhythms reaching from Salsa, Rumba, Afro and Timba to Jazz and Funk.

Info Mayito Rivera (Vocals)

Born in Las Tunas / Cuba

Throughout his career he received numerous awards for his outstanding voice and has won a variety of international prizes. Amongst others the Grammy Award together with Los Van Van; and another Grammy nomination in the category “Best Salsa  Album of the Year” for his solo album “Negrito Bailador”. During his worldwide tours he stood on stage with stars like Pio Leyva,  Osdalgia, Tirso Duarte, and many others. In Wim Wenders film “Sons of Cuba” (Buena Vista Next Generation), he played a leading part.

Sound:

Live:

Mayito Rivera (CU)

Die Stimme der erfolgreichsten Band aus Kuba – Los Van VanMayito Rivera Cover

Mario „Mayito“ Rivera ist ohne Zweifel einer der bedeutendsten,zeitgenössischen Sänger Kubas. Über 20 Jahre lang war er  die markante Stimme und das Gesicht der erfolgreichsten, kubanischen Band Los Van Van.

Ob Son, Rumba, Afro oder Salsa,  Bolero oder Timba – wenn Mayito Rivera singt, tremoliert und koloriert, ist das grundsätzlich preisverdächtig. Für seine herausragende Stimme wurde er bereits mehrfach ausgezeichnet und gewann unter anderem zusammen mit Los Van Van den Grammy-Award. Für sein Soloalbum „Negrito Bailador“ erhielt er eine weitere Grammy-Nominierung in der Kategorie „Best Salsa Album of the  Year“ .

Das facettenreiche Talent des „Poeten der Rumba“ wissen auch Musikerkollegen zu schätzen, die ihn weltweit zu  Gast-Auftritten laden: so zum Beispiel Salsa-Größen wie Oscar d´ Leon, Gilberto Santa Rosa, Issac Delgaado oder Son Como  Son, Timba live u.v.m..

Nach seinem Ausstieg bei Los Van Van im Jahr 2011 geht Mayito Rivera nun eigene Wege mit seiner  Band, „Sons of Cuba“ – einem Sextett von jungen Spitzenmusiker, direkt aus seiner Heimat. Zusammen präsentieren sie nun die geballte Ladung aus perfekten Arrangements und eine völlig neue Mixtur aus modernen und klassischen Salsa-, Rumba-, Afro-  und Timbarhythmen bis hin zu Jazz und Funk.

 

Info Mayito Rivera
Geb. in Pinar del Rio / Kuba
Für seine herausragende Stimme wurde Rivera mehrfach ausgezeichnet und gewann diverse internationale Preise. Unter anderem den Grammy-Award zusammen mit Los Van Van, sowie eine weitere Grammy-Nominierung in der Kategorie “Best Salsa Album of the Year” für sein Soloalbum “Negrito Bailador”. Bei seinen weltweiten Tourneen stand er mit Stars wie Pio  Leyva, Osdalgia, Tirso Duarte, u.v.m. auf der Bühne . In Wim Wenders Filmproduktion „Sons of Cuba“ (Buena Vista Next Generation) spielte er eine der Hauptrollen.

Mayito_Rivera_kl2

 

Live Termine: